Media error

Whenever I receive files like music and videos through sharing,it won't save also writing error for those files.

Media error

Whenever I receive files like music and videos through sharing,it won't save also writing error for those files. This happens immediately I just changed my screen. And now my internal memory is showing 50+gig instead of 64. Please what can I do, I'm thinking of putting the phone on factory reset or something. HELP!!!

Comments

• marsic marsic
    ✭✭✭✭  /  edited November 2018
    Disclaimer: I'm no expert, just sharing my 2 cents on the matter.

Did you unlock the bootloader, maybe flashed a custom ROM? If yes, it could be that the internal storage was formatted using another file system, where the reported file size may differ.

If not, i don't know, perhaps you have a defective portion on the storage chip (not sure if possible, just a wild guess).

After backing up what you can I would also suggest resetting to factory state. But did you try to reboot it first? There's a small chance that some system cache file may have been corrupted, try rebooting and see if it helps
  • naufrago naufrago
    ✭✭✭✭  /  edited November 2018
    Just for storage capacity, where do you see 50gigs? Android system takes some 12+ gigs.
    Here is my disk info showing 50gig available alongwith settings menu showing 64gig.

PS. added one more screenshot showing 12gigs system allocation.

• MrBelter MrBelter
    ✭✭✭✭  / 
    Also manufacturers use a decimal GB to show the specs off while the hardware will continue to use a binary GB so the actual capacity is lower than advertised.

On a 64GB device you'll lose around 1.5GB just because it was never even there to start with.
  • naufrago naufrago
    ✭✭✭✭  / 
    More technically, Android uses ext4 file system. 
    Some %5 of storage space is reserved to avoid file fragmentation.
    Some is used for journaling, etc. by file system.