The community forum

Join the conversation

Getting started with Android

Tech Wizard

i'm new to android and would appreciate an article in this forum regarding the way android works, guidance for the seemingly endless options to configure and customize everything, and an overview regarding the options hmd/nokia have added or removed in comparison with other android manufacturers?

google play store makes me feel like a lab rat lost in a labyrinth. a 'sticky' list with third-party apps in the forum would be useful, to provide frequently requested added functionality regarding the camera, file management & sharing, audio and video editing etc.

i so far found open camera, total commander file manager, and a good audio recorder by sony mobile.
(the first two are nerdy but seem to do everything, the audio recorder is straightforward).

i'm sure the information is out there already, somewhere. it's just a matter of finding it and make it available here.

@moderators:

do you plan to allow experienced users create and maintain this kind of sticky/wiki articles in the forum?

--
hans

Hi hpholm!

Thanks for your message. You've raised a really good point about having a space for discussions about the Android OS, software updates etc. That's why we've created a new area on the forum where you can discuss all software/OS related things. If at some point an Android specific FAQ is created we can make that topic sticky to ensure visibility. Great idea!

When it comes to customization & configuration, we have actually gone the other way. We really pride ourselves on our commitment to using pure, secure and up to date Android software which means you will have access to the full spread of Google Services and no unnecessary extras. With regular updates you'll always stay on top of features and security.

For more information on the Android OS visit www.android.com 

Have a great day!

Anna (moderator) 

Tech Wizard

Thanks Anna.