That should not happen...
In the Contacts app > 'hamburger' menu top/left:
- which account is shown at the top?
- is 'All contacts' selected?
And in the Contacts app > Menu > Settings:
- what is the standard account for new contacts?
- is that account set to sync automatically (in Accounts)?
Does this help?